The SafePAT advisory board members have a great amount of expertise in the fields the consortium operates in: healthcare, patient safety, and medical education. The advisory board was installed in the fall of 2017 and consists of the following members:

  • Dominique Putzeys RN MSc
    Head of the Nursing care Department, CHR de la Citadelle Liège, Belgium
  • Prof. dr. Dieter Mesotten
    Anesthesiology, Ziekenhuis Oost-Limburg Genk, Belgium
  • Patrick Henn MB, BCH, BAO, MSc, MA
    Mr. Henn is a lecturer in Medical Education at University College Cork, Ireland
  • Prof. dr. Jeroen van Merriënboer
    Prof. van Merriënboer holds a chair in Learning and Instruction. He is research program director of the Graduate School of Health Professions Education of Maastricht University.
  • Dr. Karl-Heinz Feldhoff
    Dr. Feldhoff is the former district director of the health office in Heinsberg and chairman of the euPrevent EMR Foundation.
  • Prof. dr. Martina Ziefle
    Prof. Ziefle is head of the Chair for Communication Science and a founding member of the Human-Computer Interaction Centre at RWTH Aachen University.
  • Prof. dr. Johan Hellings
    Prof. dr. Hellings has dedicated ten years of research to understand — and positively influence Patient Safety. As one of the Safety Culture pioneers in Europe, he used the Belgian Hospital Survey on Patient Safety Culture, allowing Belgian hospital to benchmark their position on safety culture. He is a part-time professor in Hasselt University, Faculty of Medicine and Life Sciences. In addition to his academic career, he is appointed CEO of a large hospital in Flanders, where he guides this hospital through the challenging process of merger.